“Empty bowl with gunk still in it” and “Do potatoes have thoughts?”

VegEdibles’ Greatest Hits

I’m guessing that many of my fellow bloggers are familiar with the obsessive desire to check how many hits your blog gets. I’ll admit that I am among them. It’s not that I have any delusions of food blog fame; I’m just doing this for fun. But it makes me happy when people read my posts, and I find it especially gratifying when my blog has been useful or entertaining to someone. Here is a recent snapshot of my blog stats:

Some of these hits are from faithful VegEdibles followers. My genuine thanks go to those of you who follow the blog. I really appreciate your support, even if you’re just a lurker. This post, however, is about another cohort of VegEdibles visitors who stumbled onto the blog through Internet search engines. I thought it would be interesting to share some of the search terms that have (mis)directed people to VegEdibles.

Common search terms:

  • “Fennel anatomy” (21 hits): It seems that I am not alone in my state of profound fennel befuddlement. “Fennel Follies” described my misguided attempt to cook with fennel for the first time. Seven individuals have been linked to the post after searching for “fennel anatomy,” while 14 additional people found the post through related searches.

  • “Pickling experiments” (13 hits): Let’s face it. People like to pickle things. As I discovered while writing this post, pickling is downright fascinating! Luckily for Bill, however, I’m not likely to experiment further with home pickling in the near future.
  • “Mint chocolate balls” (12 hits): The picture of mint chocolate “balls” in this post was deemed foodgawker-worthy, propelling VegEdibles to food blog fame, albeit fleeting. I’m guessing these hits may have been from people who had seen the picture in foodgawker and were looking for the recipe. Interestingly, one of the hits was somebody looking for: “sticky balls recipe for dogs.” Although they may look like dog treats, these snacks are for people. (Don’t feed chocolate to dogs!)

  • “Granola not clumping” (11 hits): Apparently, clumpy granola eludes many a home cook. I can empathize with the frustration of the 11 people whose search terms related to the quest for the Holy Grail of homemade granola. Check out this experiment in which I tested different granola clumping methods.

  • “Are produce delivery boxes worth it?” (1 hit): Okay, this was only a single hit, but it sure made my day. I might have actually helped this person by writing this post discussing organic produce delivery and comparing various produce purchasing options.

And now, some downright bizarre search terms:

  • “Empty bowl with gunk still in it” (1 hit): I’m thoroughly amused that VegEdibles attracted someone on the verge of discovering the concept of dish washing. Perhaps this instructional article from wikihow.com outlining the 24 steps (yup, 24!) of dish washing would have been more helpful. I wonder if this picture of Bill’s empty bowl from this post about liquid hummus is what led them here.

  • “Do potatoes have thoughts?” (3 hits): VegEdibles doesn’t typically explore the metaphysical realm, but three separate searches related to potatoes and thoughts have converged on this blog. For the record, the three search terms were: “Do potatoes have thoughts?”, “deep thoughts about potatoes,” and “potato offended.” Perhaps I did offend the potatoes that I used to make Hasselback potatoes.

  • “What can you sook that would disguise hemlock as an ingrediant” (1 hit): Whoa, buddy! VegEdibles does not endorse in any way the use of hemlock as a poisoning agent! If you’re reading this, please rethink your motivations for trying to poison someone…and don’t mention that you used my blog as part of your research.
Leave a Reply

