What’s in the box?

The summer produce bonanza continues! There isn’t anything too strange in this box except for the alien squash. Here are my plans:

The low-hanging fruit (i.e., stuff that we can eat with minimal preparation)

  • 2 nectarines – Eat one and poke at the other one since it got smashed in the box and is really mushy.
  • 1 bunch lettuce – Eat as a salad.
  • 1 pound plums – Practice juggling, then eat.
  • 1 bunch rainbow carrots – Eat with salads.
  • 1 tiny box blueberries – Gone

The experimental subjects (i.e., stuff that will inspire new recipes)

  • 1 pound potatoes – I was going to try this classy Hot Pocket recipe last time, but Bill hijacked the potatoes for Hasselback potatoes. I shall try again.
  • 1 pound assorted tomatoes – The only thought I have is fried green tomatoes. But I don’t like to fry things.
  • 1 pound summer squash – Stare at them and contemplate their alien appearance. Attempt to communicate with them. Then grill them.
3 thoughts on “What’s in the box?

  1. Why are there baby watermelon mixed in with the red tomatoes? Maybe if you plant the green ones in the ground, they’ll turn red. Ooo, maybe you can expose them to ethylene gas.

    Supergreen pattypan squash! A couple of weeks back, yellow squash and zucchini was $0.39-0.49/lb at the produce store. I must’ve bought 50 lbs. (Later, I bore a giant squash baby.) I sauteed squash with an onion and black pepper. Repeat 50 times for 50 lbs of squash. I also use oyster sauce with them. Provides the much needed MSG to bland squash.

    Because Bill likes the Hasselback potatoes so much, I think I’m gonna try making them soon in a couple of weeks. I’ll let you know how they turn out in NY.

    • Awesome, awesome suggestion for the green tomatoes! I actually have the remnants of a basil plant that I didn’t care for properly, but there’s still the dirt left. I’ll bury them under the dirt and wait for red tomatoes to emerge. Stay tuned for my blog post about that 😉

Leave a Reply

