Breaking All the Rules!

Indigo Blue Cornmeal Pancakes … for dinner!

Now, don’t freak out. There will be plenty of recipes incorporating the CSA produce. I just wanted to share this pancake recipe I found since it was so simple and good. And, in the spirit of using new and unusual ingredients, it incorporates a rather odd shade of cornmeal.

I recently found myself in possession of indigo blue cornmeal. “Why?” you might ask. It makes a lot of sense, actually. I was making chili a few weeks ago and decided to accompany it with some cornbread. My grain mill happened to be sitting out, so I thought I might as well grind my own cornmeal. My mom had given me some “gourmet” blue popcorn on her last visit, so I figured it would be fun to make some blue cornmeal. I went a little overboard and ground about three cups’ worth of cornmeal. The blue cornbread was tasty, but the scant one cup required for the cornbread left me with two additional cups and therefore with somewhat of a cornmeal conundrum.

Google to the rescue! I discovered a recipe for blue cornmeal pancakes on allrecipes.com. It is highly rated, although I’m guessing I am one of the few people who sought this recipe specifically to use blue cornmeal, as most of the reviewers admit to having used the more conventional yellow color.

Blue Cornmeal Pancakes
(adapted slightly from allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup blue cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon white sugar
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder

Directions

  1. Mix together the cornmeal, salt, and sugar.
  2. Pour the boiling water over the cornmeal mixture, stir, and let stand for a few minutes while you prepare the other ingredients.
  3. Combine the egg, milk, and melted butter in a small bowl or measuring cup.
  4. Pour the egg mixture into the cornmeal mixture and stir to combine.
  5. In a large bowl, mix the flour and baking powder. Then make a well in the flour mixture and pour in the other ingredients. Stir just enough to combine. Add a bit more milk if the batter is too stiff.
  6. Heat a skillet over medium heat, add oil, and pour batter.  Allrecipes recommends 2 tablespoons of batter, but I used more to make larger pancakes.  Wait until bubbles form on the surface of the pancake, then flip and cook the other side.
  7. Serve with the usual pancake accompaniments.

Edibility Evaluation

Bill and I actually made these for dinner the other night. We rarely have breakfast for dinner, but Bill didn’t complain, and he even seemed quite pleased with the idea of eating pancakes for dinner. Bill ate his pancakes happily and awarded them a solid 4.0 on the edibility scale. I’m really not much of a pancake person, so I was quite surprised by how much I liked them. I think it was a very fortuitous combination of flavor and texture. In fact, it was the complex texture (benefiting from the crispy edges and gritty cornmeal) that nudged them to a 4.5 for me.

Notes

  • These would be great with whole wheat pastry flour. I’ll use that next time.
  • We made a few pancakes with blueberries, but we agreed that it was better to just keep them simple.
Leave a Reply

